Book Review: One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake

Title: One Dark Throne Author: Kendare Blake Publisher: Harper Teen (US),  Macmillan Children's Books (UK) Publication Date: September 19th 2017 Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Goodreads Review Rating: ★★★★ Synopsis: The battle for the Crown has begun, but which of the three sisters will prevail? With the unforgettable events of the Quickening behind them and the Ascension Year underway, … Continue reading Book Review: One Dark Throne by Kendare Blake

Book Review: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Title: Every Heart a Doorway Author: Seanan McGuire Publisher: Tor.com Publication Date: April 5th 2016 Genre: Young Adult Urban Fantasy Goodreads Review Rating: ★★★.5 Synopsis: Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children No Solicitations No Visitors No Quests Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of … Continue reading Book Review: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Book Review: The Astonishing Colour of After by Emily X.R. Pan

Title: The Astonishing Colour of After Author: Emily X.R. Pan Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (US), Orion Children's Books (UK) Publication Date: March 20th 2018 Genre: Young Adult Magical Realism Goodreads Review Rating: ★★★★ Synopsis: Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird. Leigh, … Continue reading Book Review: The Astonishing Colour of After by Emily X.R. Pan

Book Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Title: Truly Devious Author: Maureen Johnson Publisher: HarperCollins Publication Date: January 16th 2018 Genre: Young Adult Mistery Goodreads Review Rating: ★★★★★ Synopsis: Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting … Continue reading Book Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Book Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Title: Love, Hate & Other Filters Author: Samira Ahmed Publisher: Soho Teen (US), Hot Key Books (UK) Publication Date: January 16th 2018 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Goodreads Review Rating: ★★.5 Synopsis: A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape--perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline … Continue reading Book Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Book Review: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Furthermore Author: Tahereh Mafi Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers Publication Date: August 30th 2016 Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy Goodreads Review Rating: ★★★.5 Synopsis: Colour and magic combine in this enchanting new middle grade fantasy from the bestselling author of the Shatter Me series. Born as blank as canvas in a world brimming with colour and … Continue reading Book Review: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Book Review: A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood

Title: A Tyranny of Petticoats Editor: Jessica Spotswood Publisher: Candlewick Press Publication Date: March 8th 2016 Genre: Young Adult Historical Fiction Anthology Goodreads Review Rating: ★★ Synopsis: From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat anthology of historical fiction and fantasy featuring a diverse array of daring heroines. Criss-cross America — on dogsleds and ships, stagecoaches and … Continue reading Book Review: A Tyranny of Petticoats edited by Jessica Spotswood

Book Review: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Title: The Cruel Prince Author: Holly Black Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Publication Date: January 2nd 2018 Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Goodreads Review Rating: ★★★★★ Synopsis: Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever. And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. … Continue reading Book Review: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

Book Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Title: Everless Author: Sara Holland Publisher: HarperTeen Publication Date: January 2nd 2018 Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Goodreads Review Rating: ★★★★.5 Synopsis: In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood, bound to iron, and consumed to add time to one’s own lifespan. The rich aristocracy, like the Gerlings, tax the poor to the hilt, extending their own lives … Continue reading Book Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Book Review: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Title: We Are Okay Author: Nina LaCour Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers Publication Date: February 14th 2017 Genre: Young Adult Fiction Goodreads Review Rating: ★★ Synopsis: You go through life thinking there’s so much you need… Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother. Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old … Continue reading Book Review: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour