Rapid Fire Book Tag

Today’s post is going to be slightly different than usual, I really wanted to include some Tags on my Blog and I thought this would be a great one to start with.

I hope you all enjoy!

eBooks or physical books?

I prefer reading physical books, there’s something about being able to hold the books and physically turn the pages of it. However, I have read and continue to read many eBooks. They are much easier to travel with (I’m always scared I’m going to damage my physical books when I travel with them) and you have take 100’s of books with you on one device – which is awesome; but still… you can’t beat a physical books

Paperback or hardback?

I go through phases of prefering one over the other. I definitely prefer the look of hardbacks of my shelf, but then can get very bulky, hard to travel with and not to mention hard to get my hands on them in the UK. However, I find myself panicking about breaking the spines of my paperbacks every time I read them… so (right now) I think I would have to go for hardback

Online or in-store book shopping?

This is a hard one… I love visiting bookstores (ask my boyfriend, I drag him into every bookstores we see), picking all the books up and being able to purchase-and-read the books that same day, but online book shopping is extremely convenient – I can literally shop for books from the comfort of my own bed… what’s better than that?

Trilogies or series?

If I’m really enjoying a book series and it has the potential to take lots of twists and turns, then definitely series – the more books the better! On the other hand, I do feel like some stories are better to wrap-up in a nice duology/trilogy. I’m definitely big on thinking that if a story needs to end, then it has to end (even if it kills me inside) – I just can’t stand it when storied drag out

Heroes or villains?

Can I pick both? I love reading about and from the perspective of heroes, but I also find villains to be extremely interesting, how they became evil and what they were like before they were evil. Also, I feel like there aren’t even books following villains or their back stories – it’s just this year I’m starting to see more published and I’m loving it!

31450752A book you are anticipating?

There are a lot of books I want to read that are coming out this year, but for the exact reasons I mentioned above, I am anticipating the release of Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy. This book is a YA anthology, written by thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors that have teamed up with thirteen BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view – I need this now!

It’s being published July 11th 2017 by Bloomsbury Childrens

Recommend an underrated book.51rmnofyfsl-_sx332_bo1204203200_

I’m not sure if you could consider this one underrated but it’s definitely one I would recommend to anyone and everyone to pick up, Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys.

This is a young-adult historical book that follows the Stalinist repressions of the mid-20th century and follows the life of Lina as she is deported from Lithuania with her mother and younger brother and the journey they take to a labor-camp in Siberia. It’s full of heart-break but it’s definitely a story that will stay with you.

This books was published March 22nd 2011 by Puffin

28818314The last book you finished?

The last book I finished was Roseblood by A.G. Howard. This is a classical young-adult retelling of  Gastón Leroux’s Phantom of the Opera. It narrates the story of Rune Germain who moves to a boarding school outside of Paris, only to discover that at in this opera-house-turned-music-conservatory, phantoms really do exist.

I really enjoyed this book and gave it 4★s!

This book was published January 10th 2017 by Abrams Books

Weirdest thing you used as a bookmark?

I use anything I find lying around as a bookmark really. Probably the weirdest thing would have to be a post-it note with random university jargin written on it.

Used books, yes or no?

Definitely, why not? Although I usually find myself purchasing new copies of books, I’m definitely not opposed to used books. It’s one of the things I love most about books, then can be re-read and re-loved 1000’s of times over!

Top three favourite genres?

I actually tend to stick with books from the same genres (because it’s my favourite, duh) so I would have to say fantasy, historical and dystopian (but it needs to be done well!)

Borrow or buy?

I usually buy most of my books, more than borrow. However, I do have an extensive list of books I’m waiting to get form the library so… both?

Characters or plot?

This is torture… a good book will have to have both (obviously) but I find myself loving more plot-driven books. I can’t stang reading a book with a bad plot but I can forgive boring/poorly-written characters.

Long or short book?

This one depends. If I’m in a book-slumpish mood then definitely short – it motivates me to keep reading, there’s something about that feeling on finishing a book I love. However, if a book is good, I never want it to end – in that case, give me 100’s of pages!

Long or short chapters?

Definitely short chapter. During the semester, when I’m at univeristy, I don’t have a lot of time to read so I will pick up a book for 30-minutes bursts at a time and I hate it when I have to stop in the middle of a chapter. Long-chapter can drag a bit too and loose my attention, so short 100%.

Name the first three books you think of.

So, aside from the  Harry Potter books – because they are an obvious pick – these are all books I enjoyed and loved a lot!

Books that make you laugh or cry?

Both – because it’s amazing when I book can do either to me. However, I find that books that pull on my heart-strings are the ones that tend to stay with me the most.

Our world or fictional worlds?

Seriously? Fictional, of course! I love submerging myself in a whole new world every time I read a book.

Audiobooks: yes or no?

I’ve tried a few audiobooks in my time, and although I find them great when I’m on the bus or car, I never find myself enjoying the books as much when someone else is reading it.

Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Absolutely, I’m completely guilty of this – to the extend that I made a post about some of my Favourite YA Covers … I know, it’s bad.

Book to movie or book to TV adaptation?

Depends, sometimes book to movie can be awesome as can TV adaptations. I think movies tend to have to cut-out more aspects of a book because they have a limited time in which then can show the story, whilst TV adaptation can take their time. So, as long as it’s done properly, I tend to not have any preference.

Series or standalone?

Like I said before, some books I feel like they are meant to be standalones while other are meant to be series. If I love a story, I usually never want it to end… so, series!

Tagging

I want to tag anyone who is reading this! Also, if you dont’ want to do the full post and just fancy answering somer of the questions, comment your answers bellow – I’d love to know what you think!


happy reading,

Tessa ♡

instagram // goodreads //  bookclub

 

One thought on “Rapid Fire Book Tag

Leave a Reply

